Tags

, , , , , , ,

Over the weekend I was asked a great question that made me really think. That questions was “Why would someone want to be in a relationship with you”? No one has ever asked me that before so I had never given it much thought. It really caught me off guard. It really made me think why would someone want to be in a relationship with me? I responded with something along the lines of I’m funny, spontaneous/fun, understanding, a good listener, supportive, etc. I think I did a good job selling myself but at the end of that day actions always speak louder than words. Sure, we can all paint a pretty picture of ourselves, who doesn’t? No one goes into a job interview and says I’m frequently late, it takes me a long time to respond to emails, I hate excel, and I take long lunches. Who would ever get a job with a description like that? Dating is similar to the interviewing process. Both people are trying to find out how compatible they are with each other.

When is the last time you’ve asked yourself the following questions: Why would anyone want to be in a relationship with you? What can you bring to the table? What is it about you that would make someone want to be with you? I honestly think these is a great question to think about when looking for a partner.  Can’t think of anything that would make you a good catch? That means its time to sit down with yourself and do some soul-searching and make some changes for the better. I was watching Tough Love the other night and some of the ladies responses were awful! Elizabeth said that she hates 50/50. Implying that a man should be the bread-winner and pay for everything while she just send around and enjoys the fruits of his labor.  When she was asked What are you bringing to the table her response was Me. Me wasn’t the best answer and as you guessed she turned a lot of men off. When looking for a relationship, its important that you have something to bring to the table and honestly it should be more than good looks and a fat wallet. Even though those things are nice perks, it’s not enough to carry a relationship.